The Tale of the Hair

We were trying to remember when our youngest boy started growing his hair out…perhaps it was four years ago. It being his unique choice, was something my husband knew was just not an issue—he remembered the hair thing himself as a boy. This child’s hair is much nicer than my thin straight hair that’s for sure. His locks are interesting; curly in the back, straight in the front, warm brown, golden in the sun…it fits him. He is our Daniel Boone anyway, spending time in nature, noticing every detail. An individual.

20130513-065440.jpg
We love this child as we all love each of our own, and knew he was getting a bum wrap from others who sometimes unknowingly were judging him based on his hair–which goes with that choice unfortunately. They completely missed his sweet, sensitive spirit, the depth and wisdom if his youthful insight.

20130513-065421.jpgLast year when this lamb was born, our shepherd—now also a drummer boy, was 10. Too young to take on the work of it since some point after this, he lost control of those strands. Snarls in thick hair remained hidden and worked their way into quite the impressive dreadlock. (Yes, that’s singular.)

20130513-144315.jpg
Hats became the norm. He was not ready to cut it, none of us could make a dent in removing it. By now it was so a part of him we would miss it our selves, but it had to be cut eventually.

Then on Mothers Day he didn’t come to the breakfast table, and my Mr. Kain motioned for me where to find him. He was hiding around the corner.
I found him; head down, red eyed, without his long hair.
Surprisingly, I wept.

He looked taller, more vulnerable, a bit older..my growing boy and his sweet, now sad face.
We held each other and let our faces get damp while I spoke words of love and encouragement. I prayed that they would be wise words, healing words.

“Happy Mother’s Day Mama” shyly spoken. And I kissed his beautiful face.

His sacrifice was huge.
…and yes I know it was only hair, dead on the outside, but inside he was still very raw. Then his young heart was hurt further when our dog didn’t recognize him and growled at the “stranger” she saw.

Sacrifices. They cost something. What, if anything, do I sacrifice for my family anyway? I hate facing my own selfishness. Then there’s the God card…His SON He sacrificed for my/our sins you know…”The gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord”…ahuh, not just his long hair. (I feel so shallow).

Nevertheless, the whole haircut thing had to be done, and this mama had been encouraging towards that end result. Now I did the ‘Mom Thing’ and recited a long list of the good for him to think on…then I would tear up again! Good grief. I just didn’t know it would be so emotional.

Daddy tried to lighten the mood by making a beard of the chunk cut off…

20130513-160119.jpg
Apparently the 10:30 p.m. previous night’s hair cutting party in the garage was an fun event; laughter, playing with the hair, coming up with different ways to surprise me…including tucking it in his hat and taking it off at the table. “Ah, whoops”.

20130513-075616.jpgBy evening he was roasting s’mores and kind-of singing with the rest of us…but not quite ready to pose for the camera.

20130513-144101.jpg

So I did the Mom Thing again and snuck a couple of shots to show his cutie patootie face.
It is so going to be fine. And I really like it on him.

5 responses to “The Tale of the Hair

  1. What a shocker!!!!! Does Benson look exactly like Jackson now? I thought you had 2 Jackson’s on the photo! He looks adorable and tell him so from his Nana.

  2. Hey Sherry. This was a very touching story. I too recall when we were young and my brothers and I didn’t want our hair cut either. There was something about it that appealed to us. You told this very well. Thanks for sharing the experience with us. Love to all! (Benson of course too; whether the hair is long or short!)

  3. Long or short, Benson was and is our precious Benson. His personallity and his heart is so sensitive whether it be people or animals. We just can’t wait to give him a huge love. Sherry, how wonderfully you wrote your blog. It was hard for me to read it to Grandpa and he chocked up.

  4. Sherry, thank you for sharing this moment with others. It is very touching to read. I read your blogs because of the recipes or just to see what my freind is up to, but this is one of my favorites. The recipe? Yes, to love our children’s hearts so that they can bloom where they are at. And I agree, he does look taller.

  5. Loved the story…loved the description of your tenderhearted boy and his sacrifice for Mother’s Day. Love the eternal sacrifice of our Lord that is a gift for all mankind. Love your family 🙂

Leave a comment