Bagels Baby!

20130302-153403.jpg

If there is not a bagel shop around that makes them fresh (not) we go without. Hmmm. I don’t like to go without very long, so when withdrawals hit…we bake! It’s a good thing my youngest took this picture when she did, because in less than an hour this morning, there was nary a trace of their chewy wonderful existence.

In scouring bagel recipes, I choose this simplified one, and after a half dozen batches, I am still satisfied with the results, so I wanted to share…

Mix or knead together for 5 minutes:

3 1/2 cups high-gluten flour (not in my house, so I added 1/4 cup gluten to 3 1/2 cups regular flour) update 3/6/13 just read I only need to add 1 teaspoon per 1 cup of flour to raise the protein from 10% to 12%.
4 1/2 teaspoons yeast
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon sea salt
1 1/2 cups warm water (whey would be better, in any bread for that matter)

Let rest for 1 hour.
Cut into 12-16 pieces and shape into bagels. You can either poke a hole the size of a quarter in each round piece, pulling into shape, or roll pieces into a 7-9 inch log and pinch ends together. (If I ever remember to take a picture during this process I will add it later)
Place bagels on a cornmeal sprinkled cookie sheet, cover and rest for 10-20 minutes while you pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees and boil a large pot of water with 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar in it. This is less expensive than barley malt syrup, with similar enough effect.

Place each bagel in the boiling water, boil one minute, each side. Longer gives a chewer texture, so anywhere between 30 seconds and 2 minutes. Drain on a separate tray and either dip or sprinkle optional toppings on now. The photo has them dipped in sesame or poppy seeds with sea salt. I think I like sprinkled best, at minimum with a good salt. Oh ya.

Bake about 20 minutes. Try to let them cool before eating.
Divineness.

3 responses to “Bagels Baby!

  1. Look so yummy! Hey, related to your post on chicken stock…I have made several batches lately and, as per your suggestion, added vinegar. How much vinegar do you add? I have just been guessing 🙂 SO looking forward to seeing you in May!

    • I’ve never measured either, a few tablespoons? Just unfroze the boys’ wild turkeys to eat. The broth was AMAZING. perfectly clear after 10 hours. I’ve never seen anything like it. Excited for May when you come!

Leave a Reply

