Making Toothpaste with Bentonite Clay and…WHY

This weekend at a class on homemade products, of all that I taught this seemed the most intriguing to those attending.

Making your own toothpaste may seem a little out there, but after researching commercial toothpaste, I thought I would give this a try, and due to pleasant results I want to share it with you.

I originally came across this information at the Bulk Herb website, and will just try to simplify as to the reason I even tried making Bentonite Clay toothpaste in the first place.

Healthy tooth enamel (made up of 96% minerals) has a normal remineralization and demineralization exchange process with saliva. Most toothpaste is made with glycerin, a sugar alcohol which stops that de-and re-mineralization process, causing teeth to turn dingy. So the industry resolves that by using chemicals like fluoride which strip the surface of the enamel…it makes teeth look whiter, but the enamel on the teeth are actually thinner and weaker.

Bacteria then feeds on the sugar which converts to acid, which lowers the pH balance around your teeth. When the pH drops below 5.5 it breaks down the enamel, the bacteria can get inside the broken down enamel and teeth start to rot from the inside out.

This even causes worse breath than if you brushed without toothpaste, which is such an odd statement, that I had to try brushing without toothpaste before bed just to try it out. (Confirmed!)

Enter the reason for Bentonite Clay toothpaste. It is an all natural, organic, toothpaste that will neutralize acid, remove bacteria filled organic matter, leach out infection and promote healthy gums. This toothpaste will also make your teeth very white.

Just like my children, you probably needed to know that information before I tell and show you that this toothpaste is brown. Sometime just knowing the “why’s” makes the out-of-ordinary not seem so odd and it becomes acceptable!

(Bentonite Clay is a volcanic ash, it can also taken internally to remove toxins, or in a bath for the same purpose)

First the recipe, followed by which ingredient plays what part:

3 Cups Water
1 Tablespoon Stevia Herb
1 1/2 Cups Cinnamon Sticks
4 Tablespoons Whole Cloves
1 Tablespoons Baking Soda
1 Teaspoon *Celtic Sea Salt
1 – 1 1/2 Cups Bentonite Clay Powder

1. Mix the first four ingredients in a medium saucepan, and boil 30 minutes. While that’s heating, mix 1 tablespoon baking soda and 1 teaspoon Celtic Sea Salt and set aside.
2. Next place 1 cup of Bentonite Clay into a glass bowl. Note: it is important to use a glass bowl and wooden spoon because when the Bentonite Clay gets wet, it sets up an electromagnetic reaction which will absorb the particles inside of a metal bowl, or the toxins out of a plastic one.
3. Remove saucepan from heat and strain off herbs, catching the liquid in a glass bowl. Slowly add the salt and baking soda mixture. Expect it to foam and bubble. This is the cinnamon and the baking soda reacting to each other. While it is still frothing, pour the liquid mixture into the bowl of Bentonite Clay, and whisk briskly. The foam will start to settle down and a smooth paste should start to form. Continue adding the remains of Bentonite Clay until the desired consistency is reached. Store in glass jars voiding any contact with absorbable metals or plastics.

*a note on sea salt here…the more colorful your sea salt (picture grey sea salt) the more minerals it has…up to 87 minerals, where table salt is refined, heated up to 1200 degrees, killing any minerals it previously contained. That would be why table salt causes issues to our health and sea salt is simply good for us.

-The Celtic sea salt, baking soda and Bentonite Clay are mild abrasives to remove plaque.
Sea salt and cinnamon are anti-bacterial
Cloves are an antiseptic that kill bacteria causing odor (chew on these if you have a toothache to relieve the pain)
Stevia is a natural sweetener that does not coat your teeth as glycerine and sugar do.
-and the cinnamon and cloves give the toothpaste a pleasant taste.

Since making this recipe, there is a jar of it in each bathroom along with a small container of toothpicks for scooping out the paste onto individual toothbrushes along with a tube of Colgate toothpaste to give them a choice. I am pleasantly surprised to report my four children are all voluntarily using the Bentonite Toothpaste on a regular basis, not just my husband and I.

That alone gave me all I needed to know to share this with you. AND my teeth are a lot whiter in just two weeks.

Ingredients can be purchased in the bulk herb section of your local health food store (it cost me around $6 for the ingredients I did not have on hand), or online. The Bulk Herb Store also sells the ingredients as a kit and links to a YouTube video on making this toothpaste.hvi

20130421-151044.jpg

20130421-151108.jpg

20130421-151122.jpg

12 responses to “Making Toothpaste with Bentonite Clay and…WHY

  1. I just made this last night and I am absolutely in LOVE with my teeth! The flavor is yummy and by the time I was finished brushing, the toothbrush was squeaking over my teeth! My teeth have never been so clean, and my body never so chemical free! Thank you so much for sharing this!

    • Wow Jen…you are better than a commercial πŸ˜‰ Glad it’s not only me enjoying it. Next time I think I will let the herbs/spices seep even longer for even more flavor and benefits. We recently switched to sonic toothbrushes as well, and with that combination I don’t know which is better since it’s that just-got-my-teeth-cleaned-at-the-dentist feeling constantly which is amazing. Thank you a lot for the feed back…I’m just sorry I can’t pay you royalties. (hee hee)

  2. Thanks for sharing. After you’re done brushing, do you vigorously rinse immediately? Or do you wait a few moments before rinsing? I am wondering if the healing effect will be more noticeable if the paste is left in between teeth for a longer time so that saliva can immediately begin the process of remineralization by using the minerals that come in the bentonite (calcium, magnesium).

    • I have not waited to rinse and the super clean effects are immediate. It can’t hurt to wait though, I think you’re hypotheses would be valid for the healing effects. (Especially after reading that it takes 20 rinses to effectively remove the glycerin off ones teeth after using commercial toothpaste.)

      A note I should add: I’m liking a thinner paste for it’s texture, it doesn’t dry out as quickly, and is not as abrasive to your mouth if you brush too long and hard with a thicker paste and a sonic toothbrush! (Did that once, ouch).

  3. Hi there, I’m new to this whole world of homemade hygiene products, but I’d love to try out your recipe. I have one question though: do you think bentonite clay could be replaced with white clay? I have that on hand, that’s why I’m asking. Thanks for your reply!

    • Hi Ana, so nice that you found this. Apparently there are about 14 clays out there used for …cosmetic (for lack of better word) purposes. White Kaolin Clay is the mildest of all clays. I read that it helps stimulate circulation to the skin, gently exfoliate, remove some toxins and bacteria, but does not draw oils from the skin, so it is suitable for sensitive, dry skin. I have never used it but hear it has more of a “slip” (good for shaving cream!)
      Since the purpose is to remove toxins and bacteria I would definitely use it since you have it on hand. It will still do a much better job than commercial tooth paste. I am so excited for you to try it!

      • Thank you so much for your reply! I’m so excited about trying this out, but I have to wait for my stevia powder to arrive, which is the only ingredient I didn’t have (now that I’ve read up on all the benefits, I’m making it a staple). I’ll let you know how we like it… I especially hope to get the kids to start using it. I’m so horrified with commercial toothpaste that I haven’t let my 3 year old use it yet. This has to taste great with all the cloves and cinnamon, so hopefully they’ll accept it πŸ™‚

  4. Sherry, you continually amaze me. Is it too late for me? I think you and Kathleen would enjoy getting together. She brushes with clay, also. Too bad you live so far apart. πŸ™‚

  5. this sounds like a great toothepaste, I’m interested in trying it out. Just wondering, how long is the shelf life? also, is it okay to skip the stevia? I don’t care for sweet tastes myself πŸ™‚

    • You certainly could ommit the stevia.
      Shelf life seems to be just a few weeks (3-4?), and it gets firmer as time goes on. So lately I have only been mixing half a batch at time, storing the other half of the liquid decoction in the refrigerator to re-heat and mix with the dry ingredients later. Hope you enjoy it…(I’m hooked!)

Leave a Reply

