Energy Bites

ENERGY PLEASE!

Pinterest planted the idea last week when I was searching for no-bake sweets since my kitchen was teetering at 90 degrees and I just could NOT turn my oven on and add to it. So we tried a couple recipes for no-bake, healthy, energy bites. They disappeared shortly, with the child customers and the lunch-box-packing-hard-working-husband asking for more of the one’s with chocolate chips. They do taste a lot like cookie dough. Sweet!

Today’s batch took me maybe 5 minutes to mix together…chill for half an hour, then another couple minutes rolling into balls. In the bowl went:

  • 1 cup oats (I stock regular oats, any will do)
  • 1 cup coconut (toasted mine for more flavor)
  • 1/2 cup nut butter of your choice (used half peanut butter, half almond butter, since I had some)
  • 1/2 cup ground flax-seed or wheat germ (used both, the more the merrier)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (the darker the better) or use other nuts, seeds or dried fruit
  • 1/3 cup honey (this is the only ingredient I would not substitute, as it binds everything together)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Then because I must tinker with all recipes and had added extra flax and wheat germ, for more moisture I put in a bit of coconut oil, my new favorite item in my life, about 2-3 tablespoons of more energy and goodness.

After mixing, this needs to chill before it will let you form it into balls. If we have any left this evening I would store them airtight in the refrigerator.

My money saving tip would be to check the bulk section in the grocery or health food store for flax-seed, wheat germ and oats. Well, I try to buy my oats in 20 to 50 pound bags, but if I’m low and can’t get to a Big Town for say a Cash and Carry or such, the bulk section still saves money.

5 responses to “Energy Bites

  1. Planning fair food and remembered your “energy bites” this evening, so will add those to the list of things to make tomorrow 🙂 Think I’m going to try a little coconut oil along with the pbutter…hopefully won’t make it too runny. Have you compared prices with Azure for oats, flax, pumpkin seeds, coconut, etc?

    • Coconut oil with more flax or bran to even it all out works great,good choic– oh my goodness, perfect for those long fair days in the barns. Haven’t done Azure, I do get 25-50 lb bags of oats at places like Cash n Carry, flax in bulk…I’ll check it out! Thanks for the tip.

  2. I also found this on Pinterest and can’t seem to keep stocked for more than two days! Everyone loves them so much! Thanks Sherry! Also using coconut oil for eggs or frying etc.. so good for us!

Leave a comment